Home / News / Georgia ranked third strictest state in DUI laws
Students can avoid driving under the influence by riding with a designated driver or catching a ride with Uber or Lyft.

Georgia ranked third strictest state in DUI laws

It’s no secret that college students enjoy a good party every now and then. The drinks come out and sometimes things get out of hand. It’s also no secret that many college students believe themselves to be invincible, and convince themselves that they are okay to drive after “just a few too many.” Although, Georgia residents may want to think twice before getting behind the wheel, for more than a few reasons.

When it comes to driving under the influence, Georgia has been ranked the third strictest state with laws concerning the issue. According to an article by “Driving Laws,” even driving under the influence for the first time could land you anywhere from a $300-$1000 fine. A student or any drunk driver could also find themselves in jail for 10 days all the way up to a year, depending on the severity of the arrest.

The article also said that drivers found to be under the influence may receive a “12-month suspension but may be reinstated after 120 days if the driver completes a DUI education program and pays a $200 reinstatement fee.” When it comes to young adults who are under 21 drinking and driving, “you can expect to lose your driver’s license for a minimum of six months with no work or school permit available.”

So, what does this mean for students? The phrase has been repeated for years and years; simply do not drink and drive. There are several alternatives to getting home after a fun night out.

The most common form of prevention is having a DD, or designated driver. This person should be a close friend or family member who refrains from consuming any alcohol throughout the night.

The role of a DD is a simple one: deliver the intoxicated person or persons to their homes or a safe place where they can spend the night. This option is the most common because it provides students with a safe place to go, while also keeping them in the care of a sober driver.

Another alternative to getting home safe is Uber and Lyft. These services are similar to taxi drivers who can come pick you up and drop you off at any location at pretty much any time of day or night. These drivers are trusted to be sober and safe, but always be cautious when getting into one of these cars while intoxicated.

Drunk driving compromises the safety of not only the driver, but also other drivers. They are risking the lives of the other passengers in the vehicle, and also other people driving on the roads.

Instead of risking countless lives by drinking and driving, focus on which option suits you and your friend group best. Decide on a designated driver or discuss getting an Uber/Lyft. Every student must decide which option is best suited for their situation, because no one’s life is worth ruining over an easily avoidable mistake.

Written by Logan Gullage. Photo courtesy of The Spectator.

Check Also

VSU’s new engineering technology degree coming fall 2020

A new engineering technology program will be offered at VSU soon that will allow students ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *